Tom Brady Among 32 Players Whose 2018 Helmet Types Banned by NFL for 2019 Season

FOXBORO, MA - DECEMBER 28: Tom Brady #12 of the New England Patriots puts on his helmet against the Buffalo Bills during the first half at Gillette Stadium on December 28, 2014 in Foxboro, Massachusetts. (Photo by Jerome Davis/Getty Images)

Jerome Davis/Getty Images

New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady is one of 32 NFL players who was still wearing a helmet that is now banned for the 2019 season. 

Per’s Kevin Seifert, the NFL and the NFL Players Association agreed to eliminate certain helmet models that have “fallen short in laboratory testing” for providing proper protection.  

Last year marked the first time the NFL and NFLPA began banning certain helmet models for their poor testing results. A total of 10 helmets were included on the ban list, though only six went into immediate effect. 

The four remaining models were given one more year, though they were not made available to rookies. 

Seifert noted the league and union approved 11 new helmet models that can be used for the 2019 season. 

Jeff Miller, NFL executive vice president for health and safety initiatives, told Seifert it is “eminently doable” to convert the newly-banned models into one that is already on the approval list. 

The NFL has been testing helmets since 2015 in an attempt to help protect players from head injuries and trauma. The VICISZero1 helmet is the league’s most popular current model in use and includes multiple layers of protection that help reduce and slow impact forces. 

Read More

from Viral News Updates

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s